"Bettenhaus"-Tower and Institute Building (center) in the Luisenstraße, © Charité
"Bettenhaus"-Tower and Institute Building (center) in the Luisenstraße, © Charité

You are here:

  • Home.

Institute of Sexology and Sexual Medicine, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Continuation of a Berlin tradition

Sexology is a discipline founded in Berlin, which is based on preliminary work by Wilhelm von Humboldt (1767 - 1835). As early as 1919 the first Institute of Sexual Science was founded. Following this tradition, the integration of sexology into the Center for Human and Health Sciences at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin took place in 1996. Therein was expressed that an exploration of the whole range of sexual experience and behavior is striven, not just a consideration of clinical pictures.

The institute offers lectures, studies and internships for students of all disciplines and engages in interdisciplinary research on human sexuality, i.e., dealing with biological, psychological and social factors of influence on human sexuality. For this reason, diagnostic and therapeutic services are offered to people who suffer from their sexuality. Corresponding offers are provided in the sexual medicine outpatient university clinic and cover all range of known indications. All medical students of the Charité are trained on the manifestations, diagnosis and treatment of human sexual disorders. Further training for doctors and psychologists is given in separate curricula according to the regulations of the Berlin Chamber of Physicians.

According to the holistic principle of sexual medicine, prevention offers have been created for people with special sexual preferences (especially pedophilia), which are on the one hand a nationwide prevention network "Kein Täter Werden / Don't offend!" here and at 10 other sites, as well as a prevention project for juveniles "Du Träumst Von Ihnen / Just Dreaming Of Them" only here in Berlin.

The same applies to the treatment procedures for couples of the syndyastic sexual therapy developed at the local institute.

Basic research, empirical research, as well as clinical studies on sexual experience and behavior, such as NeMUP Nord, complement the institute's range of services.

Currently there is only a shortened english version of the institutes webpage. Please refer to "Research" for the latest activities of the Institute or switch to the German webpage for more information.

Partnerschaft in Zeiten der COVID-19 Pandemie

Vielen Paaren gelingt es nicht in dieser von Unsicherheit und Angst geprägten Zeit, ihre Beziehung als Ressource zu nutzen, um Kraft und Vertrauen zu schöpfen. Um dem erhöhten Bedarf an Unterstützung in Beziehungs- und Ehekrisen ein Angebot gegenüberzustellen, das den Empfehlungen zum Infektionsschutz gerecht wird, bieten wir in unserer Hochschulambulanz eine Videosprechstunde an. Wenn Sie sich aufgrund der aktuellen Lebenssituation in Ihrer Partnerschaft besonders belastet fühlen und Hilfe brauchen, können Sie hier einen Termin vereinbaren.

Institut für Sexualwissenschaft und Sexualmedizin in Berlin: Fortsetzung einer Berliner Tradition

Die Sexualwissenschaft ist eine in Berlin gegründete Fachdisziplin, die an Vorarbeiten von Wilhelm von Humboldt (1767 – 1835) anknüpft. Bereits 1919 kam es zur Gründung des ersten Instituts für Sexualwissenschaft. Dieser Tradition folgend kam es 1996 zur Integration der Sexualwissenschaft in das Zentrum für Human- und Gesundheitswissenschaft der CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin. Darin kam zum Ausdruck, dass eine Erforschung der ganzen Bandbreite sexuellen Erlebens und Verhaltens angestrebt wird, also nicht nur eine Befassung mit Störungsbildern.

Das Institut bietet Lehrveranstaltungen, Studienarbeiten und Praktika für Studierende aller Fachbereiche und engagiert sich interdisziplinär für eine Erforschung menschlicher Geschlechtlichkeit, d.h. der Befassung mit biologischen, psychischen und sozialen Einflussfaktoren auf menschliche Sexualität. Aus diesem Grundverständnis erfolgen auch diagnostische und therapeutische Angebote für Menschen, die an ihrer Sexualität leiden. Entsprechende Angebote werden in der Hochschulambulanz für Sexualmedizin vorgehalten und betreffen alle bekannten Indikationsbereiche. Über Erscheinungsformen, Diagnostik und Behandlungsmöglichkeiten von menschlichen Sexualstörungen werden alle Medizin- Studierenden der Charité ausgebildet. Weiterbildungen für Ärzte und Psychologen erfolgen in gesonderten Curricula gemäß Weiterbildungsordnung der Ärztekammer Berlin.

Dem ganzheitlichen Grundansatz der Sexualmedizin folgend sind Präventionsangebote für Menschen mit sexuellen Präferenzbesonderheiten (insbesondere Pädophilie) entstanden, die zum einen als bundesweites Präventionsnetzwerk Kein Täter Werden hier und an 10 weiteren Standorten sowie als nur hier am Institut beheimatetes Präventionsprojekt Du Träumst Von Ihnen vorgehalten werden.

Gleiches gilt für am hiesigen Institut entwickelte paarbezogene Behandlungsverfahren der Syndyastischen Sexualtherapie.

Grundlagenforschungen, empirische Untersuchen, sowie klinische Studien zum sexuellen Erleben und Verhalten wie etwa NeMUP Nord ergänzen das Leistungsspektrum des Instituts.